Home

Erasure

January 17, 2011

I know this may make me a few enemies, but I’m gonna go right out and say it: I hate Gertrude Stein. Ok, I don’t personally know Gertrude Stein to hate her, but I’ve read [sic: attempted to read] Tender Buttons. A few random words about a ham & a carafe in and I hated it. Abhorred it. Never disliked a work so much in my life. I know many people have found the so-called “genius” behind her work, but I am not one of those people. That being said, I did find use for some of her work…

 

About two [two already??] years ago  I was taking an advanced playwriting class.  We learned all different forms of playing around with writing and writing exercises. One of which was “erasure.” Erasure is, essentially, taking a text and blacking out large pieces of it to strip it to its bare bones. Then we were to make a play/monologue out of it. I made a few, but my favorite was one I made out of a Gertrude Stein piece.  I left alone the words to make a new poem out of it, as it stands.

 

Erasure was fun, but for me there was something liberating about taking a text, particularly something I despised, stripped it, degraded it and made it something I loved. Maybe it’s fucked up, but I liked it. But hey, that’s me in a nutshell. So, without further ado, I present to you my Gertrude Stein erasure project:

 

ERASURE #2   1/29/09

 

Leave a Reply

